Home > General > AT&T doesn’t like your Jailbroken iPhone

AT&T doesn’t like your Jailbroken iPhone

Today, AT&T sent out the following text:

We need your help regarding your iPhone account. Your iPhone does not currently have the necessary data plan required for all iPhones. Please call us by Sept. 14. Just dial 611. We appreciate your business.

Personally I don’t think this will go well for AT&T. People with iPhones but no data plan are doing it for a reason. They want the cool new phone without spending all the extra money. They aren’t bogging down AT&T’s network at all and any cellular data they use, they are charged for. It seems like a non-issue to me. If they really plan on doing anything, they better expect a lot of people to switch to T-Mobile, since I’m sure T-Mobile doesn’t care one bit if people are using iPhones on their network.

Apple has been warning jailbreakers that they are a risk to national security for some time now. I guess it was time AT&T started going after people too.

For now I would suggest people ignore AT&T, but I am not a lawyer. If you do call them, however, leave a comment and let us know what they say.

Update: It seems a lot of people have gotten this message, so I have been doing a little research. I found an interesting post that explains AT&T’s policy. It seems like if you don’t have a data plan at all, it won’t matter since they are only going to disrupt data service. I could be wrong though.

As a side note, I don’t see why AT&T has to know you are using an iPhone. If someone has any ideas on how to block the iPhone from sending that sort of information to AT&T, let us know. Also, if someone has a spare iPhone they want to donate, I’ll do some research on how to stop that information from being sent to AT&T. No promises, but I’ll do my best!

Another Update (Sept. 1, 2009): Avoid an interruption to your data service

Categories: General
  1. Pauly
    August 18, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    I received this message today too. Looks like AT&T believes that they will make a profit from scaring people into buying their data plan. No thanks, I still don’t want or need it. If they take further action, I’m jumping ship and giving my money to another phone provider. I’m out of contract anyway, so there’s nothing keeping me. No one should force you to purchase a service that is not wanted or needed.

    If every (or most) jailbroken phones on AT&T switched to another provider, AT&T will lose money on this move.

    • pwnhome
      August 25, 2009 at 8:32 am

      I’ve seen that sort of info too, but can’t really find anything that shows AT&T has said it. My guess is that if you call them they will tell you that you must have the data plan. Otherwise, why would they have sent the text message to people with the 2g phone?

  2. August 18, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Got the same message. I called them earlier and both reps I talked to said come Sept. 14th, if I don’t add the plan manually, they’re just going to either tack on the $30 data plan automatically or make your phone number inoperable.
    Do not know what to do…..

    • Roller
      August 18, 2009 at 11:35 pm

      It´s a no brainer.

      Switch provider.

  3. pwnhome
    August 18, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Well, I am not a lawyer, but I wouldn’t think they could just add something to your plan. If they make the phone inoperable, you could switch to another phone or try to get out of your contract since they aren’t providing service. If you can get out of the contract switch to another GSM provider and your iPhone should work. I can’t imagine other providers caring.

    P.S. if anyone out there has a spare iPhone and want’s to donate it, I’ll do some research on how to make it so AT&T doesn’t even know you have an iPhone. Should be possible, but might take some work. Contact me by leaving a comment if you are interested.

  4. Scott
    August 18, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    With the CDMA carriers (all I’ve ever had) the ESN of the phone can reveal the manufacturer and model. I would assume this is the same with GSM and the phone’s IMEI. It is possible to change this on some models of phones with extra hardware, but it’d have to specifically support changing the iphone’s IMEI and if something like that came out I wouldn’t doubt Apple would go after them.

  5. JDK
    August 18, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    You are confusing “Jailbroken” with “Unlocked”.

  6. someone
    August 19, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    my iphone is neither jalebroke or unlocked
    i took in another phone.
    told them iwas switching to it and to take off my data plan.
    when i got home i took the sim card and put it back into my iphone.
    to avoid extra expensave data charges i downloaded a program that completley blocks data !!!!
    so 30$ off my bill !!!!!!!!

    i too got this text about not having a data plan and to call them before sept 14 :( booooo

    • wanttochangeimeibefore sept 14
      August 31, 2009 at 2:05 am

      What is the program you downloaded that blocks data? and what firmware is your iphone?

      • Alex
        September 4, 2009 at 11:24 am

        SB Settings, However it won’t make a difference if At&t signs you up for the data plan, your phone will have data anyways and whether or not you use it is your hoice at that point. I’d just switch carriers.

  7. zach
    August 20, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I got this message this morning and I, like the rest of you, am pretty pissed. I have no need for a data plan; the wifi is perfectly fine. But I have gotten attached to my iPhone and don’t want to give it up. If anyone comes up with a solution, I’d love to know.

  8. JC
    August 20, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Leave AT&T

  9. Tim
    August 21, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I’ve already talked to a friend at T-mobile they’re expecting hundreds of thousands users to switch to them if AT&T tries to charge users for a data plan they don’t want. This is going to cost AT&T billions over the life of this decision.
    The contract I signed was with Cingular not AT&T.

  10. zach
    August 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    A related question that some of you might have the answer to: I’ve been reading some things online that AT&T no longer requires you to have a data plan if you are using one of the first generation iPhones that run on Edge – that it’s only mandatory if you have a 3G phone. Yet I can’t find anything on the AT&T website that confirms this. Is this true? If so, should I just AT&T and tell them that, no, I don’t have a data plan and, no, I don’t want to get one?

  11. September 1, 2009 at 6:57 pm

    So if I do nothing, then my data plan will stop or are they going to sign me up for the iphone data plan? I would prefer to just use the Wifi and save the money.

    I am wondering if this is a iphone 3.0 OS issue? If we downgraded to a older OS, would it not allow att to know?

    On the eve of september 14th I plan to put my sim in a cheep motorala phone and use the data on there and see If I am contacted on the 14th.

    Really lame that they are doing this, I hope that whatever change they do make will result in a workaround.

  12. Alex zimmerli
    September 3, 2009 at 11:57 am

    AT&T says they are automatically going to sign me up for the data plan. I
    told them DO NOT do that because I am not paying them ONE MORE DIME! They
    said they want to ensure that their customers get the maximum use from
    their service. I told them that’s a load of crap. They are doing this to
    ensure they get the most money they can out of people. And that the only
    person it’s hurting by the customer not getting the most out of the
    equipment is the customer. I told them that as soon as I get out of this
    contract, I will NOT go back to AT&T EVER! I tried to get them to let me
    out of my contract by waiving the fee, but they wouldn’t do this. They said
    their policy is to ONLY let people out of the contract for service issues.
    I did tell them that their service was an issue, but that didn’t seem to
    qualify. Also, I had an idea to put our SIM card in another phone long
    enough to show that the phone is NOT an Iphone (maybe 1 month or less) on
    their website, then going back to the I phone, then you could put the SIM
    card in another phone a month or two later for a few weeks. Just until our
    contract runs out. Then switch to another carrier. They can then go nuts
    trying to decide if you have an I phone or not.

  13. Radius Forilla
    September 10, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Damn! Ihave gotten 2 of these messages too. I was planing on waiting to see what the dark loard does after the 14th. I am out of contract too, maybe t-mobile is the answer.. I could switch and get the HTC hero and keep my un- Locked i phone… I am sick of the Death Star (at&t) anyway 

  14. September 12, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Ok, so I did the unthinkable and called 611 and talked to an ATT representative. I wanted to share what happened to answer any questions people may have. So Up until now, I had bought an iphone off a friend and just jail broke it and tranfered my sim card to the iphone. I already had ATT, so it went very smothly. I added a data plan on my previous motorola phone for $15/month. I also had a 200 txt plan for $5/month. So I was paying an extra 20 bucks for the unlimited data and some txt messages. A few days ago I looked on my ATT account online and found that I could add a 20 iphone plan for unlimited data and 200 txt’s for $20 bucks a month (same price as I was paying). So I was skeptical, because I thought ATT might try to get me with some Start up fees or something for having an iphone. Well I gave 611 a call this morning to find out, considering were getting closer and closer to the 14th (which, btw, i read on some site, that in the Terms and service, ATT can just switch you to an iphone plan if they know you have an Iphone, so I figured I better just come forward and tell them, then have them charge me for some higher plan).
    So when I called them, they acnoleged the $20 plan (unlimited data and 200 txts) After first sugesting the $30 a month plan (unlimited data and 1500 txt’s). So I then gave them the long digit number on the back of my sim card for my Iphone and then I put the sim back in and dialed *#06# on my phone and read off that number to them. After re-booting my phone I then was able to make calls and set up my visual voice mail. So going from having an ATT account with a jail broken iphone to having a legit iphone through ATT was just a phone call away.

    Something to consider, Now my plan has been with ATT for 5 years or so, so any start up fee may have been waived, but there was no mention of this by the ATT phone lady. It looks like they just want people to register there iphones if they are already with ATT so they can get more money from us when MMS comes out on the 24th or so.

    hope this helps any of you who might be scared about calling them and having them charge you a bunch of fees. Good Lick!

  15. HR_19
    September 18, 2009 at 1:13 am

    So now it’s after the 14th…any news? What happened? I Google’d this thing and found nothing, except for this page and article.

    • pwnhome
      September 18, 2009 at 12:00 pm

      As far as I know, nothing as happened. Hopefully it stays that way, but I guess we’ll see. I can’t speak, however, for those with iPhone 3g or 3gs.

  16. September 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    So far so good. Even after updating my iPhone plan, they still sent me a txt message telling me that my data would not work, because I was not on the proper plan, yet my data has continued to work. I hope others haven’t had any problems with this either!

  17. September 22, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Switch to T-mobile People!
    I switched to T-Mo almost two years ago, got me a family plan with 3 lines. Recently I got me two iPhones one 3G and one 3GS 16GB jailbreak and unlock them myself. I have the $5.99 TZones plan for one line, which gives me unlimited internet data. For the other one I had to add the new plan for $9.99 (T-Mo caught up and got rid of the $5.99 plan). Both iPhones work flawlessly with unlimited data. Maps, GPS and any App requiring a data plan to run work beautiful! Plus their customer service is one of the best. The reps get overly excited to help you even with the iPhone. All for $120 a month!

    Fak AT&T

  18. January 3, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    There’s no chance that’s true! Apple never used to be quite that. I am aged enough to recall the very first that had mouse recognition

  19. February 26, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    My ipod touch 1G is our important iPod, Pda and even more, and has really been day that I received it. It continues to work on the newest iPod system software, and also any app I want it to operate. I’m using it to leave this remark right this moment. Iwould say it can be a much more as compared with simply just an “excellent hobbyist system” — it is really an perfect iPod

  20. justin6162
    June 9, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    i don’t have data plan, i block internet since the first month i sign the contact. i got my 3gs from ebay and it’s not unlock or jailbreak at all. but Damn AT&T sent me a text “AT&T Free Msg:Did you know a data plan is required for your iPhone? For whatever reason, our records indicate your iphone did not have the correct data plan. We have added the appropriate data plan. Call 611 or go to att.com/iphoneplans for info.” I don’t understand how can they just force people to added something to the plan. Do this mean they break the contract? so I can switch to t-mobile without the early terminal fee? If any one know the law or a lawyer please help. i just want a cool phone without the data plan.

  21. cravethecrazy
    June 30, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I have been using an unlocked iPhone for almost two years with T-Mobile. Today I went to check my email and I got a message telling me I will be charged 1.99/mb if I continue or I could sign up for 30.00 a month. I can only browse the web with a local wifi connection. I’ve been using that part just like people that have the IPod Touch. They aren’t getting charged for using a local wifi connection. Has anyone else received this problem without even having AT&T service?

    Just thought people should be aware since they might switch to Tmobile.

  22. Moiz
    October 30, 2010 at 11:49 pm

    These guys just told me that they’re gonna give me Internet and I had no say in it! Like not even a choice. The message said that they have detected that I have an iPhone and have given me the proper data plan!! I had no idea this was possible. Can they really just do that? Can’t we protest and take this to court or something?

  23. November 1, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Yea, Moiz. I think they can just do that. Sorry.

  1. September 10, 2009 at 3:50 pm

Leave a Reply

