Home > General > “Avoid an interruption of your data service”

“Avoid an interruption of your data service”

AT&T Free Msg: Important information! Your iPhone does not currently have the necessary data plan required for all iPhones. Plase call us by Sept. 14 to avoid an interruption of your data service. Our reps are ready for your call. Just dial 611. We appreciate your business.

They are at it again. AT&T sent the above SMS out this morning to all iPhones without the proper service plan. This mean they want to force you to purchase a data plan for you iPhone you either bought off eBay (or wherever) which is not under contract with AT&T. If you don’t have a data plan at all, will it matter that you have interrupted data service? I doubt it. Can they legally do this, add a service to your plan without your consent? Well, it is possible, but why even find out. Why not just switch service providers to another GSM provider that doesn’t care. This is the great part about competition and a free-market economy.

Categories: General
  1. Durtyrice
    September 5, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I’ll be honest. I never even considered about switching to T-mobile until I read some of these comments. Now it seems like the best option.

    I purchased my (edge) iPhone from craigslist when they 1st came out and unlocked / jailbroke it so I could avoid higher service charges. I paid for media net (because my previous phone utilized it) and gave me access to the edge network. I’ve been doing so since. I don’t understand why they would force savy customers to pay more for the same service I am using now. Not only that but charge me more for the 2g network which my phone won’t even use. I never wanted to upgrade because where I lived the 2g network wasn’t even offered. Not cool AT&T.

    As if Apple’s constant upgrades ticking off early adopters wasn’t bad enough now you take away my cheaper iPhone bill bragging rights.

  2. justin6162
    June 9, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    i don’t have data plan, i block internet since the first month i sign the contact. i got my 3gs from ebay and it’s not unlock or jailbreak at all. but Damn AT&T sent me a text “AT&T Free Msg:Did you know a data plan is required for your iPhone? For whatever reason, our records indicate your iphone did not have the correct data plan. We have added the appropriate data plan. Call 611 or go to att.com/iphoneplans for info.” I don’t understand how can they just force people to added something to the plan. Do this mean they break the contract? so I can switch to t-mobile without the early terminal fee? If any one know the law or a lawyer please help. i just want a cool phone without the data plan.

    • pwnhome
      June 14, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Just switch back to your old phone and call AT&T to get the data plan removed. Wait a week and switch back. Kind of annoying, but that might be the only way. Any legal battle will probably not be worth it. It’ll just cost way too much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

